I guess we thought it was the 80’s


Last weekend, my husband and I actually hit not one, but two parties on Saturday night. This was kind of a big deal, because I tend to be a social butterfly, while still shy on the inside, but it is painful for Nick to go out and socialize. And he doesn’t even indulge in alcoholic beverages to lubricate the social tension any. First, we went to the elementary school’s annual Parents Night Out fundraiser, which had an 80’s theme. Naturally, I already had everything I needed in my closet. I wore a lace prom dress ($1), a blace leather bomber jacket from the 80’s, which I just love ($1), Rod Stewart and Duran Duran pins that I had lying around in my jewelry box, a studded necklace I had picked up cheap at Halloween when my daughter and I went Goth, and some pearls and bright yellow hoops I also had around the house. Nick wasn’t up to dressing up (We kind of got ready at the last minute), but he ended up having a great time and didn’t complain one bit. We sat with my friend Tracey whom I’ve known since she was in 2nd grade and her husband Paul, and my other dear friend Kathryn, and her husband, also a Paul. There were so many hilarious stories of the 80’s, and everyone wore the best outfits!!

The Rockers
Rockers!!

Tracey and Paul
Love Them!

Me and Nick
Me and my Man

Kathryn and Paul
Members Only

Rocker and Lucky Star
Lucky Star!

Aqua Rock, Baby!
Aqua Rock, Baby!!

We skipped out of the 80’s party a little early to head over to my friend Leslie’s (of Love Train fame) house. I should have taken more photos of the interior, because Leslie is a decorator, and her house is really done up so cute in modern cowgirl chic. I love it!! She threw a St. Patty’s Day party with corned beef, carrots, potatoes and lots of great music.

We stopped off at home for me to change and by a liquor store to grab a six pack of “mojitos” for me. I drank two over the course of the evening; I hadn’t drunk anything but water at the 80’s party. I find as I get older that not drinking much, if any is the key to being able to handle “going out”. Since it was BYOGreenB, I, naturally, had to bring a little green food coloring to doctor my mojitos for the occasion. Three of my sisters and my brother showed up to the party, along with a lot of people who had been at the earlier event.

Cute hostess (on the right)
IMG_1874Me with 3 of my sisters and my brother

IMG_1856

Aaron and Carrie
IMG_1875

Nick pretending to be shorter than our next-door-neighbor, Bobby
IMG_1840

Unfortunately, in true Irish fashion, my brother got good and hammered and actually got into a bit of a tussle with another party goer. Those two were tossed into a cab and invited to leave early. And then the cops were called at 11:00 on a Saturday, and we were asked to stop playing music. This in a neighborhood which is almost exclusively commercial, and only has about 3 homes. Oh well. The music turned off, and everyone continued talking. We headed home around midnight, which was late enough for us anyway.

It was a lot of fun to get out and see so many friends in one night! I guess if there is a fight, and the cops are called, then it’s a great party. ;p And if you don’t drink too much (or in my husband’s case, at all), it’s even better. We not only partied hard, we got to wake up the next morning with no regrets!! It’s good to have learned something in my middle age.

~ by bekaboo on March 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “I guess we thought it was the 80’s”

  1. You look fabulous in your 80’s gear! I love it! Sounds like a fun evening … 2 parties in one night … I am tired thinking about it (and I am a lot younger than you). Haha, I must be a Nana! šŸ˜‰

  2. Looks like you had alot of fun! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
