A trip to the Castle

My friend Mary Therese recently moved into a local home we jokingly refer to as “the Castle”. She says she will just keep an invitation open to us at all times as she is not one to stand on formality (very true). We got the not so grand tour the other day as she was unpacking boxes and her son was doing his homework. It is a wonderful Spanish/Mediterranean style, which I love, and it has five bedrooms and a great, huge basement where the giant TV and game systems will go. Are you ready for a partial tour?

Here are some photos for you:

A side view of the house
IMG_1215.JPG

The arched window in the living room (there’s a ginormous fake Christmas tree that came with the window):
"The Castle"

The dining room chandelier:

IMG_1152.JPG

The foyer:
IMG_1164.JPG

A settee from the previous owner:
IMG_1197.JPG

A tiled staircase:
IMG_1166.JPG

Zack climbing the stairs:
IMG_1168.JPG

The “welcome home” banner looks tiny!:
IMG_1169.JPG

Love the stained glass!:
IMG_1173.JPG

She kept a photo of the street where she used to live (and we still live). Isn’t it gorgeous?
IMG_1179.JPG

Another chandelier:
IMG_1182.JPG

A pink tiled bathroom:
IMG_1183.JPG

Seriously, these tiles are amazing!
IMG_1190.JPG

Love these 1920’s houses. Lots of work, but really worth it.
IMG_1186.JPG

A chandelier and built-in storage in one of the many closets:
IMG_1191.JPG

And a built-in dresser:
IMG_1192.JPG

A black bottom pool:
IMG_1205.JPG

Lovely little side yard:
IMG_1212.JPG

Thank you for having us! We’ll be back to take our prom pictures here.
IMG_1211.JPG
Thanks again!! Actually, this dear friend is a doctor, and she was sweet enough to fill a prescription for me today after a quick exam. I am actually off to the pharmacy to pick it up. Thank the Lord for good friends and good neighbors. I hope you enjoyed the tour half as much as we did.

~ by bekaboo on March 18, 2011.

4 Responses to “A trip to the Castle”

  1. Wow–I love all the tiles–beautiful!

  2. Wow, no WOW! Tell her thanks for the open door policy… if I’m ever in the neighborhood I’ll drop in. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Her powder room is the same color as mine, but I don’t have those beautiful accent tiles. Maybe I would like mine better if I had some of that!!

    I appreciate you sharing the article written by your friend. The censorship (excuse me “spin”) of our media never really tells the true story. The theme of most, during the celebration on Thursday, definitely ran down the shit-faced path. Me… I was not one of them.

  3. Your blog is lovely! I am having a great time surfing through your posts! Love that vase with the bird. So cute.

  4. What a beautiful house!! And I LOVE the pool ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
