The last post of November

image

 

My friend, Gabrielle, loves the cozy cottages in my town and the two of us often fantasize about living in quaint cottages of our own (hopefully she will be making it a reality soon).  I haven’t had a chance to take her past this one adorable home that is always so cutely decorated, so when I drove past on Thanksgiving week with just my cell phone, I had to at least snap the best picture I could to share with my friend.  This one’s for you, Ellie!  Along with a few goodies from my house before it’s all Christmas.

I apologize for the quality of the cell phone photos, but this was a quickie, before the calendar page turns to December and all the Fall decorations come down.  I have actually been suffering from the flu the past several days, but wanted to get a little something done.  Today was pretty productive, considering I am still not feeling 100% myself.  Hurray for getting things done!

image

These vintage books (along with many others came from my town’s biannual buck-a-bag library sale, where you can fill a brown grocery bag full of many wonderful books for reading and decorating.  Most aren’t this pretty, but sometimes I do get lucky.

image

The lighted brick was made for me by my next door neighbor’s mother, Judy, and can be switched out for the seasons.  Judy is at Cedar Sinai right now with acute leukemia and most likely will be for the next few months.  She could use some prayers if you feel so inclined.  The little bronze deer is vintage, and I bought it at a thrift shop for $1.99.

The vintage children’s book is illustrated by Jessie Willcox Smith.  I consider myself lucky to have a few of her early books.  They are truly beautiful.  Jessie Willcox Smith The sewing machine table and the sterling tray were found for free driving home through the local alleys, the pumkin was on clearance at Michael’s and the vintage crocheted piece was .10 cents at the Goodwill. 🙂  The candle was free at the grocery store with a coupon.

Let me say that we are renting, so I did not choose the bathroom tile or wallpaper.

image

 

The large (about 2 ft tall) apothecary jar was another alley find.  Someone had thrown it away because it had a melted candle in the bottom.  I spent about an hour pouring round after round of boiling water into it and wiping it down until it sparkled.  About a month later, I spied a lid that fit it at the Goodwill for, you guessed it, $1.99!  Gotta love it when things come together.  The river rocks were free (well sort of–we bought several baskets at a charity auction, and two of our items were beautifully packed in this lovely rock).  Reduce, reuse, recycle.  And give back to your community.  🙂

image

So, am I the only one still holding on to Autumn?  Most of my neighbors have already got a headstart on Christmas.

P.S.-Ellie,  I’d still love to see how my mannequin got used in your haunted house. 🙂

~ by bekaboo on November 30, 2010.

4 Responses to “The last post of November”

  1. I hope you’re feeling better!

  2. Julie! Yes, I am feeling better now. Thank you, friend!

  3. I loved seeing this photograph of the cute cottage. I’m getting ready to paint my house and this is almost the exact color scheme. My bronze gutters are going on next week and some paint will be going up tomorrow. Now I am going to check your about to see what “your town” is… i can’t remember. : )

  4. What a gorgeous house ! WOW pretty decorations !
    Xo
    Frenchy

Leave a Reply

 
