It’s almost pumpkin carving time again

I am feeling so blue right now. Life is pretty good at our house. We have three healthy kids, and life is cruising along at hyper speed with our son in flag and tackle football, our youngest daughter in dance and guitar, and the oldest doing tons of community service and doing her best to earn her way to a D.C. trip with her classmates in the Spring. But every time I look forward to Halloween and pumpkin carving, then I think of my little nephew, Jeremy, who is still in a vegetative state over 10 months after his accident last year. He was so cute helping my brother-in-law carve his pumpkin last year. I look at these pictures and think all the “if onlys”. If only we’d known it was going to be his last time, surely we could have done something differently. We keep praying for a miracle, but the rational side of my brain knows the odds are slim to none. He is still in a care facility 20 minutes away, and it gets harder and harder to make the time to go see him once a week in our busy lives when there is no response at all. I love that little boy with the mop-top of blond hair, the sweet lisp and the dare-devil attitude, and I want him back for pumpkin carving this year.

IMG_9488.JPG

IMG_9744.JPG

~ by bekaboo on October 13, 2010.

6 Responses to “It’s almost pumpkin carving time again”

  1. Oh sweetie…(((hugs))). I wish there was something I could do. I feel so badly for your family. I will be praying for you all.

  2. Beka, my heart breaks for you guys. I didn’t know Jeremy’s current status, but I am sad to hear that there has been no change. I will continue to pray for that miracle. I am thinking of you! xx

  3. Thank you, friends! I so appreciate the prayers! It really helps. And God has touched a lot of people through this little guy; that’s for sure.

  4. Beka, I am sorry. I wish things could be different–I know how it feels to want that with all your heart!

  5. Suzerella, I know you do, and I know you are praying for him too. Thank you!

  6. I am so sorry…prayers to you and your family.

Leave a Reply

 
