How I spent $2, had fun with a friend and hid some ugly pipes along the way

Well, life is hurtling along at its usual breakneck pace. My nephew, Jeremy is recovering slowly in a subacute facility in Southern California. He is still in a vegetative state, but he is showing signs of progress. His eyes are tracking together much better, and he has moved his legs when asked recently. His older brother, Seth, whom I have referred to in this blog, is flying to Baltimore next week for hip surgery. Hopefully this will restore his bone’s ability to grow itself back, and he will be able to walk normally again. Please pray for both of them. I will be taking the 6 year old to school and back while Seth and his dad are in Baltimore and helping with her care, as my sister will be spending most of her daytime hours at the facility with Jeremy. The more stimulation for him the better! The more he responds the more therapy he will get. They will even start taking him to a special school if he becomes alert enough.

So, a couple of weeks ago, I called my friend, Gabrielle who had just finished up her last radiation treatment. Ellie has a great eye for vintage treasures and is a wonderful decorator. I invited her to come to a local estate sale with me and she was game, so off we went. It was fun to look around, but everything was overpriced, fun and kitschy, but not really what we were looking for at the prices we wanted. But before we left we checked out the garage and both of us made some great finds. I spotted this old gardening basket filled with nails and screws. It was beat up and dusty, and they sold it to me for $2! Ellie got a great big clear glass bottle of French Eau de something or other (sorry, no photo) for the laundry room for 50 cents. It looked very cool, though. You’ll just have to trust me. I think the man felt guilty for selling us junk, so he threw in a few other vintage knick knacks like a great old brass whistle (with great patina) for free.

When I got home, it took me a while to figure out what to do with the basket, but then my old washing machine bit the dust, and we had to buy a new one. I realized what a mess of ugly pipes we had behind the washer.

Ugly Pipes that Needed Hiding

Unfortunately, as we are renters, I am stuck with the ugly wallpaper as well. I have tried to clean the scuff marks, but they seem to be permanent. So I pulled out the basket, a little ironstone pitcher, a couple of ball jars for oxyclean and baking powder, a vintage tin for my dryer sheets, tossed in a couple of plants, and suddenly the whole mess looked a whole lot more cheerful.

Jar of Clothes Pins

Not bad for an outlay of $2 and a little bit of effort, huh?

What have you had to hide at your house? Do you have anything to share?

~ by bekaboo on February 18, 2010.

2 Responses to “How I spent $2, had fun with a friend and hid some ugly pipes along the way”

  1. Good for you!I wish I had the eye for that sort of thing.

  2. Looks lovely! I have a whole house I’d like to hide 😉

Leave a Reply

 
