A Knight & his Princess

A Knight & his Princess, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

This man, my brother-in-law, is my hero. He has been at the hospital night and day for nearly two weeks, since his 4 year old son had a tragic accident. We don’t know whether little Jeremy will wake up. We are all praying for a miracle. But Emily had a Daddy Daughter dance last night. We made sure she had shoes, a dress and a jacket and got her hair done, and I painted her finger nails. Her daddy, exhausted and worn with worry, managed to plant a smile on his face for an hour and a half and take his little girl out on a date. When he picked her up at my house she couldn’t stop squeezing him. “Can we go to McDonald’s first, Daddy?” she asked. “Now that’s what I like,” he teased, “a cheap date.” Way to go, Dad!

Emily

There was so much love and community effort involved in getting Emily to the dance. Of course I didn’t forget for a minute. If Mike hadn’t been able to get there, my husband, Nick would happily have taken her, but it just wouldn’t have been the same. She was so excited when her Daddy called and asked her to go with him to the dance that night, since she had heard the other girls talking about it at school. My daughter Sophia and I had bought an extra dress and Tracey, a close family friend had brought over two others for her to choose from as well. Christy, another classmate’s mother had wondered if she could do anything to help, so we had sent her to the store the day before, and she had picked out these darling shoes which were perfect for Em, along with some cute accessories. At the last minute, I called a neighbor, and she pulled out her curling iron and happily gave Emily a glamorous hairstyle. I really can’t believe how blessed we are to have such loving friends and neighbors. Thanks to all of them for helping to give this little girl a wonderful night with her dad.

In the rain

~ by bekaboo on December 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Knight & his Princess”

  1. she looks so cute…I am glad she got to have her “date” with her dad. I am sure she will remember that forever! 🙂

  2. What a special evening and such a loving thing for a Father to do for his daughter in the midst of the trials. I am praying for you and your family.
    Crystal

Leave a Reply

 
