We could really use your prayers

Jeremy, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

UPDATED December 7th:

PRAYFORJEREMY.ORG is up and running, although still pretty basic. Keep praying, and thank you!!!

UPDATED Saturday December 5th:

Here is a link where you can get updates on Jeremy’s condition:  http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/oursuperherojeremy

WordPress won’t make a link for some reason, so please just copy and paste to visit the site.

Please know that the donation link here does help children in general, but not Jeremy in particular. We do have a donation fund set up, and I can get an account number to anyone who is interested, so just email me.

ORIGINAL POST
My troubles seem so inconsequential right now, but Paul & Melis reminded me with their kind comments that I have a blog, so in case I have any readers left, I am posting this and asking for you to send this on to your friends and loved ones, as little Jeremy can use all the prayers he can get. This is my four year old nephew. He had a scary accident on Sunday night, and he lost oxygen to his brain for a few minutes. His six year old sister was with him and was able to get his daddy for help and save his life, but it is still touch and go right now. He is in CHOC hospital in Orange County, California.

At first they told his parents that he was dead, but then they were able to get a heart beat and get him breathing again. The doctors were surprised to see signs of responsiveness in him. He opened his eyes several times and turned his head toward an aunt’s voice. Even an a doctor said that it looked like responsiveness to him. Then the next day, he was taken off of machines and sedation entirely, so his little body was working hard just to breathe and keep strong. It’s been two days since then, and he has been less responsive (they told us he would be). The doctors have said they want to let him rest and recuperate for several days before doing more tests. Only his parents , grandma and one aunt are allowed in the room, all with masks to keep him germ free.

Please pass this to as many people as possible. We have so many wonderful folks around the country and the world praying for his full recovery and for his family. He is the toughest four year old I know. He rides his scooter all around my cul-de-sac, falls head first into asphalt and jumps up, declaring “I’m all right!!” He was wearing his “I’m not a Cry Baby” T-shirt when all this happened. I’m trusting God that there is a greater reason that we are not seeing yet. In the meantime, here are a few more pics of Jeremy, so you can get to know him a little.

433290586_40ef330b6d_o

10843_1311917277637_1221780252_30927034_2110110_n

10843_1311916917628_1221780252_30927025_3563955_n

10843_1311916877627_1221780252_30927024_2965783_n

10843_1311916077607_1221780252_30927005_6955602_n

10843_1311916317613_1221780252_30927010_2838406_n

10843_1311916597620_1221780252_30927017_5844480_n

10843_1311916397615_1221780252_30927012_693776_n

2998120735_b6cd022973_b

~ by bekaboo on December 3, 2009.

11 Responses to “We could really use your prayers”

  1. Oh, Beka. I can’t even imagine. I just can’t.

    We are PRAYING in our house throughout the day, and our church family is praying as well. It’s hard to think that God can bring good from a situation like this, but we know His word promises that all things work for good. Keep that promise in your heart, and remember that people all over are praying for sweet little Jeremy.

  2. OMG, Beka, I had no idea.

    Please know that I and C are praying for you and I will tell my family and friends. Is Jeremy’s family holding up as well as can be expected?

    • Well, how could you have known? Who could ever anticipate anything so horrible? A week ago we were all enjoying Thanksgiving dinner and telling the little ones not to be so naughty. My sister (his mom) is being the strong one for once, and my brother-in-law is really falling apart. He is the best dad, and not being there to protect his son (in his own mind) is just tearing him up. He was just going out to check on Jeremy and cut his finger, then stopped for a few minutes to put on a bandaid. So many of us are second guessing ourselves on what we could have done if only we had those five minutes or so back. But it was a stupid, hellish accident that was no one’s fault. The outpouring of support has been amazing. Thanks for your kindness and I appreciate the prayers! Beka

  3. Hi Beka,
    My constant thoughts and prayers are with Jeremy and your family.

  4. OMG Beka, I am so sorry- and I will be saying my prayers…

  5. What a precious little boy. My prayers are with him and your family.

  6. Thank you all. We do so appreciate the prayers! I edited the post to include a website where you can see updates. And there is now a disaster fund for anyone who would like to donate anything for his care. Chances are good there will be a need for long term care. If we do get the miracle we hope for, I would be so delighted to find some other children to give funds to. These stories always touch my heart, but it seldom comes this close to home. I wish I could take this pain from my sister and brother-in-law, because i feel some days like it could break me, then the Lord lifts me up again, and I know he is supporting them. Nomi (my sister) told me yesterday that God has not left that hospital room for a second and that the spirit in there is one of encouragement and faith. Jeremy can’t have balloons or many stuffed animals, but the walls are plastered with homemade cards from his cousins and school kids from his sister’s and cousins’ school.

  7. I will say a prayer for Jeremy today. Thank you for giving me the opportunity. And thank you so much for the encouragement you gave yesterday, may God bless you.
    Hugs,
    Liz

  8. My heart was broken when I learned of little Jeremy’s accident. I pray for comfort and healing for the entire family.

  9. Thank you for your prayers and kind words, Liz and David. I keep lifting them all before God in my heart.

  10. thank you for the kinds words that you have left on my blog.
    Children are quite strong and remarkable and I really hope that he will pull through all of this. May you all find and keep the strength and love that you all need right now. I will be keeping Jeremy, you, and your family in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

 
