Shhhhh! Don’t tell my neighbor, but I made her a birthday present.

 


Spring Collage

Spring Collage

Spring Collage

I was talking to my neighbor a couple of days ago, when she mentioned celebrating her birthday last weekend. Oops! I am really terrible when it comes to remembering birthdays. I have barely memorized those of my parents, five siblings, husband and kids! But this neighbor is special. She is always willing to help me out in a bind, and has even called Triple A for me on occasion. Our houses are catty corner to each other, and there is a small pathway by which you can climb up from my backyard into hers. During the summer our kids sneak back and forth to play all the time. This is her cute oldest son with my youngest. She always remembers my birthday and is so generous. Last year she got me several vintage jewelry findings and a gift certificate to this fabulous store that sells all kinds of fabulous old and new baubles and tchatchkes to set your creative spirit alight.

So yesterday I pulled out my long-ignored scrapping stash and put this little decoration together for her. I recently bought two of these frames at a thrift shop. They were vintage, cream plastic, made by a religious manufacturer (to hang religious medals?), but I painted this one white. Then I found the Spring Song in one of my old children’s song books. I used some ink pads for color and cut out these cute old-fashioned girlies who look ready to embrace a new season. I made the little nest from slivers of the same music paper and inked it slightly. The edges (and the girls’ white bows) are sprinkled with vintage glass glitter. Then I tied it up with some leftover ribbon and a broken rhinestone brooch.

It felt really good to be so creative, and I am a bit shocked that I was able to come up with a concept, find the materials and execute it so quickly. I have never done anything quite like this before, and I sure hope she likes it.

~ by bekaboo on April 10, 2009.

3 Responses to “Shhhhh! Don’t tell my neighbor, but I made her a birthday present.”

  1. It’s absolutely beautiful!! You are so clever. I’m sure your neighbour will really love it.

  2. It is just incredible. It’s art.

  3. Such a lucky neighbor! This is awesome…she’ll love it for sure…

Leave a Reply

 
