Thrifty Goodness



Thrifty Goodness, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Yes, two posts in one day! Can you believe it? I am desperately avoiding the housework that needs to be done. I am not sure if I have told you, but I was laid off from my teaching job in January, as the university only got about 2/3 its normal quota of international students. I have taken up book buying for an online bookseller. I am not making any big money so far, but I figure I need to build up some inventory.

So, in my pursuit of used books, I have been in more thrift shops as usual, and I have come across a few inexpensive goodies that I just had to have.

The first photo is some various bits of vintage jewelry which I am intending to use to make some button rings. Some for Christmas presents, maybe some for Etsy (which I have semi-given-up-on). But mostly because I am desperate to do something crafty.

Here are some more of my recent finds to share with you:

Sewing Notions

Thrifty Goodness

Thrifty Goodness

Pretty Necklace

Thrifty Goodness

More Vintage Jewelry

Thrifty Goodness

Tiny Vintage Locket with photos still in it. This is about 3/4 of an inch tall.

Thrifty Goodness

And last some vintage adding machine keys. These are actually not thrifted. The kids dropped one of Nick’s old adding machines, and it shattered, but I saved the keys (there are many more). I just love the color! Now, what to do with them? Any ideas?

Thrifty Goodness

~ by bekaboo on March 4, 2009.

3 Responses to “Thrifty Goodness”

  1. Cute stuff! I can’t wait to see what you do with it. That locket is amazing. I have no idea what to do with those keys, but I see why you saved them.

  2. great finds! You always make cool stuff with what you find!

  3. hi there, I have been catching up on your blog. I felt like I was on a walk with you with those photos. I enjoyed reading the post below. Oh you are so good at thrifting, sorry to hear your job had been cut. Loving those buttons. As for the adding machine keys what about a ring? or as a pendant….

Leave a Reply

 
