Come on a walk with me

0224090851

Life has been flying by at a hectic pace here, and we have plenty of worries, including a rental house that has been unoccupied for over a month now. The last two sets of folks that really wanted it both had midrange credit scores of 475, and one couple had lived in 6 places in the last two years.

Anyway, in the midst of the stress, I have let my own health and well being go by the wayside, and I could feel myself getting depressed and feeling sluggish and unmotivated.

I finally had enough of that this week, and I have picked up my frequent walks around town. Usually I walk in the gorgeous hilly neighborhoods above our house (I’ll photograph that another time), but this week, I decided to walk the trails that we are lucky to have. I walked for an hour and a half on Tuesday and forty five minutes on Wednesday. I really am aiming for every day, but I come pretty close, once I hit my stride. The funny thing is that this walk is much less hilly than what I normally do, but because of the soft terrain (dirt, leaves and pine needles), I am feeling it much more than I usually do.

The endorphin benefits are amazing and immediate. I always feel better after I’ve gotten some exercise. And I have run into at least 4 friends and acquaintances, as well as various bikers, joggers and even horseback riders. I saw my good friend’s mother walking with her seniors’ group and also my hairdresser from back in college days.

Here are a few of the sights snapped with my cell phone. Maybe someday one of you will come walking with me.

Hoofprints
0224090839

Green Mansions
0224090925

A horse at home
0224090931

A Mossy Branch
0224090931a

Happy Trails
0224090927

~ by bekaboo on February 26, 2009.

10 Responses to “Come on a walk with me”

  1. What a pretty walk–thanks for sharing!

  2. Wow, I really feel like I’ve been walking with you through your neighbourhood! And it’s soooo very beautiful. Thank you, Beka!

  3. Bek what a beautiful place to go walking! I agree with you- the benefits are immediate. I will on purpose park 4 blocks from my building at work, so I can get a little walking in. I usually end up praying— and lately, have been trying very hard to concentrate on listening, instead of talking God’s ear off. lol.

    Hang in there girl. Melis

  4. Beautiful walk, I’d love to join you. Maybe one day. Hugs.

  5. You have leaves??? Here’s it’s still chilly and grey and snow-sleet-threatening. I’ve been a bit sedentary of late and I need to really buck my ideas up.

  6. What stunning trails! I would walk with you!

    I need to do the same and get out and walk more, it is amazing how great it makes me feel!

  7. What great things to see as you walk!

  8. great walk pictures! Doesn’t it feel great to get out & exercise! šŸ™‚ good for you!

  9. What a beautiful walk with lovely pictures. I hope your mood picks up soon. Being outside can always change your perception.

  10. Absolutely gorgeous. All I have is suburban streets, although a short drive to some biggish parks. I’m glad to learn you got back on the wagon – letting your self feel neglected won’t help deal with the stressors in life, I’ve come to find out.

Leave a Reply

 
