A Wet Day to Snuggle Inside



Stormy Skies, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Well, we’ve got more stormy skies here. My husband is threatening to go back to Minnesota where the weather is better.

Since it’s a school holiday, I made eggs in a basket for breakfast. Usually I use wheat bread, but I got four loaves of Van de Kamp’s enriched white bread for .45 cents each the other day, so we use what we have. This is one of the kids’ favorite treat meals, and couldn’t be easier. I have to admit I like it too, all crispy and buttery.

Eggs in a basket

Nick got home last night, and I am so happy to have him back. The prognosis is really good for Sylvia, my mother-in-law, so we are all relieved.

He brought all of us gifts from Minnesota, and mine is something I got to use this morning: a wonderful box full of gourmet teas and the Perfect Tea Maker from Teavana. I tried the Earl Grey Cream tea this morning, and it was delicious, so hot and fragrant. I am going to love putting this gift to good use! It also came with rock sugar from Germany, canisters for the tea, and a measuring spoon. I love it!

Teavana

Teavana

Teavana

~ by bekaboo on February 16, 2009.

8 Responses to “A Wet Day to Snuggle Inside”

  1. I’m glad to read Sylvia’s prognosis is good!
    Isn’t Earl Grey Cream wonderful? A friend gave me some recently & I’m so hooked! Your breakfast looks yummy..

  2. Yum, those eggs in a basket look really good! I love treat breakfast foods like that … French toast is another favourite of mine.
    I’m not a tea drinker but I do like that packaging!

    And fabulous news about Sylvia!

  3. It was lovely to read Sylvia’s progrnosis is good. Aww at those eggs in the basket, can you make me some please………Oh what a wonderful gift DH bought you. What a sweetie. Enjoy those flavours.

  4. I’m so glad to hear the good news…..

    Yum…I love Choc. covered strawberreis..I usually do those each year and I don’t know why I didn’t this year..hmmm..

    Hey do you want to go to Temecula this weekend for La Maison?

  5. I love the pictures on the bags….what a great gift your dh got you- 🙂

  6. I’m so glad your mother-in-law is doing well, I love her outlook. Now I’m craving tea and eggs-in-a-basket! When Dave is gone we almost always have some kind of eggs for dinner because it’s so easy, cheap and we love them. Your hubby is a sweetheart for bringing home that tea maker!

  7. Just found out the proper way to say Rooibus (Roy Bus) the other day. Very glad your mil is doing well. Hugs to you and yours.

  8. I’ve never had Earl Gray cream before; growing up in England we had mostly PG Tips or Tetley, although I have to admit I’m partial to Yorkshire tea from Harrogate, the next town to Knaresborough where I lived. It’s good and strong for keeping warm on cold windy northern days.

    Please! Please! Please! boil the milk completely and never use cream in your tea; it’s just wrong. Put the tea on the milk in the cup. I can’t get a decent cuppa in any American restaurant.

    Tee hee I went to one place that bent all over itself giving itself airs and graces of old England…imagine my amused delight when they came over with a fancy wooden box and opened it with a flourish to show me the TEA BAGS inside!!!! I was polite but nearly fell out of my seat laughing.

    It’s like serving a Big Mac on best silver and linen.

    Van rooibos hou ek ook! I like rooibos also and it’s very good for you.

Leave a Reply

 
