Happy Valentine’s Day (maybe not the most fitting title for this post)



chocolate covered strawberries, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

I hope you all had or are having a great Valentine’s Day. My husband is in Minnesota with his mother who had surgery at the Mayo clinic yesterday. That is part of the reason I haven’t been online much lately. My mother-in-law, Sylvia, has been like a second mother to me, and I have been praying for her well being several times a day. A few weeks ago, she started having nosebleeds and sinus trouble. Because she has never had any sinus problems, she went to the doctor right away, and they told her she had a nasal polyp.

Once they removed it, they told her she had a rare type of cancer (only 84 cases in the U. S. in the past 20 years). Later on (second opinion), she was told it was most likely an even rarer cancer. She was sent to the Mayo clinic, because they are about the only place in the country with experience in this sort of cancer.

She’s been in Minnesota all week. The doctors there told her that her tumor was not malignant after all (hurray!), but that it was growing and would probably spread into her brain, so it needed to be removed. They did that on Wednesday. There were a few other complications, but the surgery was extremely successful, and her spirits are good.

Sylvia was so cute about the whole thing. She decided to treat it like a vacation. She bought herself several cute, warm outfits and a pair of black knee-high Ugg boots. Her ex-boss was waiting for her at the airport with a rosary from Prague, and she made friends with the hotel maid who is also Mexican. The maid brought her another rosary and the words to the Hail Mary in Spanish. Sylvia also had her husband, my husband and one of her daughters there, so she had lots of support.

Meanwhile, back on the home front, I made split pea soup with ham hocks for dinner.
Split Pea Soup

Then the kids and I made chocolate dipped strawberries for dessert. The strawberries were .99 cents a pound! Nick and I will celebrate Valentine’s Day sometime soon. I really miss him, but I am so happy that I have the kind of husband that would be there for his mom in circumstances like this.

~ by bekaboo on February 14, 2009.

10 Responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day (maybe not the most fitting title for this post)”

  1. awww virtual hugs Beka, but it sounds like Sylvia is in the best place for treatment. I love her attitude too and it sounds like that will play a big part in her recovery. BTW you didn’t break my blog lol.

  2. prayers for a quick recovery. So lovely that your hubby was able to be there for her. What an amazing attitude she has, it’s no wonder she is so loved!

  3. I hope the best for your mother-in-law; it sounds like things are going to be looking good for her.

    I had a somber end to the week; found out another friend of mine had passed away, of whom I worked with in the past.

    Happy Valentines.

  4. I’m sorry to hear of Sylvia’s illness, but she is definitely in good hands! The Mayo Clinic is first in the world for dealing with rare cancers (as you obviously know). I’m pleased to hear that the surgery was successful, and now I hope for a smooth recovery for her. It’s wonderful that your hubby was able to be with his mom during her ordeal.

  5. I’m glad to hear your good news!

  6. What a wonderful attitude Sylvia has! Good for her! I’ll keep her in my prayers as she recovers.
    Your strawberries look quite scrumptious!

  7. Oh Bek! I will do some praying for your MIL and for your family- I hope all will be well soon.

    (Those strawberries are out of control!)
    Melis

  8. Sorry to hear about your MIL, I hope all goes well.

    Your strawberries look yummy- where did you get them for .99?

  9. Sorry to hear about your MIL. I wish her a speedy recovery.

    That photo of Sophia is marvelous! I love it.

    I love split pea soup. Care to share your recipe?

  10. Mmmmm love split pea soup.
    :(:(:(:( hate medical worries. I hope your mil (what spirit!) makes a full and speedy recovery.

Leave a Reply

 
