Yes We Can!

Have you watched and really listened yet today? My husband was late for work this morning, because he couldn’t pull himself away from Martin Luther King Jr.’s famous speech. No matter how many times I hear it, I am always moved.

And then I watched this video again:

I know that many Americans have been angry with the state of this country for some time, but I have been touched by the hope so many of us have that things will be better and the courage of those who are working to do something to effect that change. I don’t expect any easy end to the current financial recession, but I am already holding my head higher as an American knowing that we voted to make a change.

When I saw Obama on television this morning, the day before his historic inauguration, he was volunteering in the community and encouraging all of us to do the same. No matter your political beliefs, I have confidence that Americans want what is best for this country, and working together to help our communities can only be a good thing.

I went to the usaservice.org website today and registered. You can start an event of your own or click on EVENTS to find something in your area. I was surprised how much there was near me. I have tried online volunteer websites before and had a lot of trouble finding anything nearby. I am super busy, but I am going to find a way to do some volunteer work this year. I know from experience that it will help me as much, if not more, than it benefits anyone else. Yes we can!

~ by bekaboo on January 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “Yes We Can!”

  1. I am so excited about today’s inauguration … and was thrilled to learn about president-elect Obama’s call to service (I received it as an email & went right to the same website)! I worked yesterday & found out about it too late to be able to participate … but I am finding other ways to contribute & will continue to do so! I really like your quote about hope, anger, and courage … and will ponder it further. So glad to have met you through the OWOH event! 😀

  2. What a wonderful post, and a great way to acknowledge that it’s not “Yes, he can” but “Yes, we can.” Huzzah!

  3. Love that courage poster!

  4. It really is marvellous how you’re so quietly inspirational.

Leave a Reply

 
