Menudo & tamales

 

Menudo, originally uploaded by npmusikchild.

I am still at the in-laws’ house, so I can’t upload any photos. But two generous flickr photographers have made their photos available. The first photo is by npmusikchild, and it is a big bowl of menudo, which is what most of my family is enjoying right now.

It is a big bowl of spicy soup with tripe and hominy. You add lime, cilantro, onion and chopped cabbage as desired. Some of the kids won’t eat the tripe, but they all like the soup. This is a traditional Mexican New Year’s Day breakfast and hangover cure. My husband can’t wait for New Year’s every year just to be able to eat his dad’s menudo. I do think my father-in-law outdid himself this year, because it even smells good to me–and I don’t do tripe! I did try one bite a year for about the first eight years of our relationship, but then I realized I just wasn’t ever going to like it.

The second photo is by All About You God, and is a big pot of tamales wrapped in corn husks steaming in the pot. This is just what the stove here looks like this morning.

tamales 
Luckily for me, my sister-in-law still has their grandma’s recipe for tamales (with a little bit of pickle tucked in). I have eaten about four so far today, and will probably eat another four before the day is through. Muy sabroso!! They are another New Year’s and Christmas staple around here, and one I am truly grateful for!

~ by bekaboo on January 1, 2009.

9 Responses to “Menudo & tamales”

  1. I would be passing on the menudo but could be persuaded to try the tamales. Whispers “I don’t like trip either”

  2. I absolutely do NOT do tripe, but that soup does look good! Perhaps if were made without offal, I would want to try some. Interesting foods, I didn’t know much about either and certainly didn’t know they were a New Year tradition.
    Happy New Year to you, Beka!

  3. The soup looks good, and so do the tamales (and this is coming from a woman who doesn’t like either)!

  4. I’ll do menudo every now and then. Then Half way through the bowl I end up gross myself out by remembering the tripe. lol But tamales… Yum, those I definitely eat. And as everyone else, I say my mom’s are the best! lol My favorite are her chicken ones, followed my the cheese and jalapeno ones. Yum!

  5. mmmm, except for the tripe! Can you believe my husband convinced my (American) friends that BBQ’d intestines are delicious. I refuse to try, not even a bite.

  6. Yummmy….Tamales…I can say I have never had Menudo….doesn’t sound like I’d like it. Don’t remember Mom every making that. Looks like you guys had a great time at the Charger Game. Cute hat Beka. We missed you.

  7. Mmmmmmmmmmmmm that looks so good. I’ve never had tripe but I’d be willing to try it in that soup.

  8. It looks so good! But I think I would be passing on the tripe too. My brother in-law is from Mexico and has tried in vain to get us to like some of his traditional dishes. I just have to pass on a few though. Tamales, or tortilla soup…..any day!

  9. HI Bek! Thank you for your kind comment on my blog yesterday. I so totally appreciate comments, lol!

    Oh, tamales. It’s not Christmas Eve at my Gram’s unless I have one. Or two… or three! We make ours New Mexico style with Chimayo red chile and OMG I wish I had one now. lol

    Hope you are well!

Leave a Reply

 
