The sad, yet triumphant tale of how I nearly got my butt kicked at the Goodwill



party time kitchen, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve blogged or commented. Ever since the first flu happened here, we’ve had about one person come down with it a week. Then my son went for round two. And this week, my youngest was home sick with a sore throat and fever on Monday, got sent home sick yesterday (this has now happened twice in two weeks, although it was a different child last week) and is home again today. Everyone will be fine, but it is definitely hampering my normal “schedule”.

Anyway, on to the important news. Yesterday, between times at work, I stopped by the Goodwill, and saw this baby, fully assembled but not yet priced. I flagged down the manager, and she told me it was $29.99. Would you believe I tried to haggle? She was firm on the price and said it had come from Target, and they had just put it together. I said I needed to call my husband, but I couldn’t get a hold of him.

Sophia has been begging me for a play kitchen for at least 3 years now, and it has just never been practical for one reason or another. As I dithered with myself over the price, I saw another woman examining the set closely. Fearful that I would lose the prize, I hurried to the front of the store and paid for it. I was given a sold form and the receipt and took them to the back to tape to the set.

You should have seen the look I got! The woman exclaimed, “This is mine!” I explained that I had already paid for it (thank goodness), and just then the manager brought this woman the original box. Luckily the manager backed me up, since I did have the receipt in hand. The other woman was NOT happy with me, but I’ll have to live with that. In some earlier stages in my life, I would have felt guilty.

But now I am just happy that my daughter’s big “Santa” gift is safely tucked away in the garage. She will be thrilled! I just looked this set up on Target’s website, and it is selling for $169! Of course, I would have had to pay tax and we would have had to assemble it ourselves.

Score!!

~ by bekaboo on November 21, 2008.

11 Responses to “The sad, yet triumphant tale of how I nearly got my butt kicked at the Goodwill”

  1. oh that was worth a butt kicking, what a great present that will make and score on the price and already having it assembled. Hope the family is feeling better now after the yucky flu doing the rounds.

  2. That is AWESOME! I’d have been kickin’ your butt, too. That’s the best deal I’ve heard of in a long time! Wow! I’m glad you got it paid for before she did.

  3. Score! indeed.

  4. Woohoo, I’m so glad you got it first. Jaylene and Jayden will be right over to play on the 26th 😉

  5. Awesome!! Go you – glad you scored this cool gift, looks like it will be very well-received and popular (with friends too!) …

  6. “Score!”– hell yeah. I’ll say.

  7. SCORE! All’s fair in love and shopping!

  8. Even if you got your bum trounced – a good bargain is STILL worth it!
    Good job!

  9. You definitely scared, good for you … and it sounds like you handled yourself very well:) !!

  10. Holy cow! I just saw that in an ad today and couldn’t believe how expensive kitchens are! I hope we find something that nice at garage sales in a couple of years and for such a great price but even then it won’t be new. Score!

  11. That’s an awesome story! And a great price. Way to go.

Leave a Reply

 
