No Rest for the Weary

Well, last night was sure interesting around here.  I had one more child come down with the flu on Friday afternoon. I had to pick her up early from school.  But, at least it looked to be done, since all three kids have had it now.  I started to feel a bit queasy and dizzy myself on Sunday and went to bed before 9:00.  At 2:30, I realized that my husband, Nick, was still not in bed.  I headed for the living room to check on him, but he was completely engrossed in a movie.  About an hour later he staggered into bed and woke me up.  Just as I settled back to sleep, my usually strong, silent husband starting wailing in his sleep. I had never heard such a thing and pinched him softly to wake him up.  A few minutes later he made the same strange noises, and I pinched him again.  In the morning he told me he had been having a nightmare about ghosts, and that my pinching had been incorporated into his dream as the ghosts hands on him.  Poor guy! Then, shortly after 4:00 in the morning, poor Zachary came into our bedroom complaining of a stomach ache. He threw up pretty violently, but we put it down to the ridiculous number of doughnuts he had eaten at the Chargers football game that day.  An hour later he was back, throwing up some more. I scooted over and made room for him next to me in bed, so I could be there if he got sick again.  Fifteen minutes later, the seven year old was in our room; she had had a nightmare.  That one got wedged between me and Nick.  So much for sleep.  It has been a long time since we had a bed full of kids, and despite my lethargy today, it was kind of sweet to have those little(ish) warm bodies in bed with us, knowing we were there to protect them and take care of them through nightmares and sickness.

~ by bekaboo on November 10, 2008.

7 Responses to “No Rest for the Weary”

  1. Goodness, what a night!!! I hope Nick has recovered from his scary dream, and that you and all the kids are now well!
    And I hope you can catch up some sleep tonight!

  2. I hope everyone’s feeling better. 🙂

    Even though you might not have slept well, I’m sure that the feeling of knowing that you could be there for your husband and kids was as refreshing and wonderful a feeling as a good night’s sleep could be. I remember when I was younger and would have nightmares or be frightened of a thunderstorm, and I’d feel so safe when I got in bed with my parents. Even though they may not have expressed it outright, I’m sure that your kids were immensely grateful to have you there to comfort them.

  3. wow you did have a night of it, but it sounds like everyone came thorugh it all right in the end. Had a wee giggle and the dream and how your pinching was incorporated into Dh’s dream. I bet the kids loved waking up with mum and dad the next morning.

  4. Sorry to hear about all the sickness, but I had to giggle a bit about you pinching your hubby in his sleep. I stayed up late to watch 28 days (the one about the virus wiping out England). Luckily I could fast forward after Ahji went to bed, but I was still scared.

  5. I’m sorry y’all are sick, but I’m laughing over the dream!

  6. sorry to hear you guys have been sick-

    I love when the kids cuddle in bed with me… 🙂

  7. So sorry your family was ill. 😦 I miss crawling in bed with my mum and dad sometimes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
