the Vintage Kitchen

 

In the Kitchen, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Thought I’d share a few of the vintage goodies that are currently residing in my kitchen. My husband would like all the counters completely clear, so we tussle over this a bit. First up is a hammered aluminum tray with a colorized 1940s photo I got at a local estate sale for .75 cents. I cut off the old, warped backing and framed the photo. The rolling pin I just like for the green handles. The cute recipe box was a handmade gift from my friend, Sara.  So sorry for the terrible color quality in these photos. I am having camera difficulties right now.

In the Kitchen

This kitschy picture was something I picked up for $2.99 at the Goodwill, because our last home had a turquoise kitchen. Turns out all the funky colors also go with the green 1950s formica in our current kitchen. I love the Paris street depicted so brightly.

In the Kitchen
I have three of these wire egg baskets shaped like chickens, each one different from the next. I am stopping my “collection” with three, since I have no room for any more.

In the Kitchen

I have quite a few enamelware pitchers, but I have narrowed it down to just these three for now.

In the Kitchen
Last, here’s a shot of some of my vintage pyrex refrigerator dishes. I try to keep my pyrex to yellow, turquoise and red, but I do have a pink one too that I just couldn’t pass up. My kids thought I was weird for having “old” kitchenware, until my daughter spotted some of my pieces in a collectibles book at Barnes and Noble. Suddenly, I was afforded a whole new level of respectability. lol!

~ by bekaboo on October 27, 2008.

14 Responses to “the Vintage Kitchen”

  1. Bwahahahahahaha! A new level of respectablility–go you!

  2. Wow, what a cool & funky vintage kitchen! I love it all!

  3. love your stuff…my mom has the same pyrex pattern with the rooster on it, (it is a rooster isn’t it?)

  4. Hi Becky. I love your vintage kitchen stuff. I think vintage really gives a kitchen character. I collect kitchen ware from TG Green. I have a collection of Cornishware but my real love is my Streamline collection. The pieces are from between 1930 to 1965.If you want to chck them out have alook at these two posts.
    http://www.scrapsofmind.com/2007/01/09/t-g-green-streamlilne/
    and
    http://www.scrapsofmind.com/2007/02/18/tg-green-cornishware/

  5. Love your vintage kitchen wear…..we too have a 1950’s kitchen. Picture red benches and teal cupboards. Loving your little collections…..this was a visual feast.

  6. Sweet and lovely collections, just like you! I feel like your kitchen is a comfy, cozy place that friends like to sit in a while with some tea, chatting while the kids play outside. That’s what I would do if I was anywhere nearby!

  7. Lovin’ your vintage kitchen accessories. Very cute!

  8. hey. i chanced upon your blog oneday & reading some entries at random picks.. i just wanted you to know that i think you’re a really cool mom!

    im mich here, from Singapore.
    🙂

  9. Awwww! You’re so sweet! I love your kitchen, you have such great style. I especially like the picture, the colors are great. I ever get to CA I need you to take me to Goodwill because we don’t ever have anything as good as yours!

  10. I love it all! My favorite has to be that wire chicken. I love old wire baskets. I have a framed street scene that is so similar to your picture only it’s about half as wide. The colors in it are so pretty.

  11. I really like the Paris street picture.

  12. I am dying over your vintage kitchen stuff!! I wish I had more counter space for some such endeavor. LOVE that print. So cool.

  13. Love the pyrex fridge dishes and did you know they’re much better than a lot of the rubbish made today? You’ve a real eye for color and harmony.

  14. Hi Beka, I love all of your vintage kitchen things!! That print is to die for.

    Thanks for ‘stopping by’. 🙂

    ~ Jennifer

Leave a Reply

 
