All the Fall we get in Southern California

For the most part, we haven’t seen any signs of Fall in our neck of the woods. The Santa Ana winds have ensured that our days rarely drop below 80 degrees, and the trees are barer but not a blaze of color. So I had to stop and photograph this collage of colorful leaves I found in the gutter outside our home. I guess beauty really is where you find it, huh?

My middle child was home sick with a miserable flu today, so this was a rare glimpse of the outside world I thought I’d share.
Home Sick from School

Home Sick from School

Poor boy. He is out of his mind with boredom and is missing his first football practice of the season tonight. Hopefully, he will be better tomorrow and the girls can avoid it.

~ by bekaboo on October 23, 2008.

5 Responses to “All the Fall we get in Southern California”

  1. I hadn’t been here in a couple days and I see that I missed quite a bit— including your birthday. So, happy birthday. I never would’ve guessed the number, especially the one you shared with the world. 🙂

    It sounds like this fall back home in Orange County is just like last years— windy, warm and fulla fires happening all around.

    I’ll be gracing OC again in January for a few days.

  2. Poor fella, I hope he feels better soon.
    Those colourful leaves are just beautiful! I guess you don’t always notice things like that if they aren’t really obvious – I’m glad you could find something beautiful amidst your ordinary day 🙂

  3. At least you found some pretty leaves, even if it was in the gutter! There’s not been much color here, yet, because it’s just started to get cool.

    Stay healthy, and I hope your boy gets to feeling better soon!

  4. Beautiful leaves, they make me miss fall in Canada.

  5. How did you manage that very high key in your shot of your little fellow; it captures the innocent look and a mother’s tenderness.

    Our leaves here on the East Coast are kind of drab b/c we’ve had a bit of a drought of late. And they’re really only just turning now…

Leave a Reply

 
