Spa Birthday Party

   

  Spa Birthday Party

Thanks to all of you for your wonderful suggestions for the birthday party. I don’t think I had a chance to thank you earlier. It ended up being super simple and low budget, but the girls had a ton of fun! I was supposed to have another mom to help, but she had to back out at the last minute. Instead, I recruited my two older kids, one 11 year old boy cousin, and a 12 year old friend of my oldest daughter. They all got distracted from time to time, so I didn’t get too many photos, but the kids had a lot of patience for their age.

The party started at 1:30, so I didn’t need to serve lunch, but I figure kids always want an after school snack. We served pretzels and goldfish, tortilla chips and mild salsa, baguette slices with cream cheese and apple slices with caramel. They loved it all, but the biggest hit was the big punchbowl full of ginger ale/rainbow sherbet punch. I don’t remember the last time I had that, but these girls went through two full punchbowls!

Spa Birthday Party

Spa Birthday Party

Each girl had a hot towel facial (white washcloths soaked in hot water and rose water), then cucumbers on the eyes.

Spa Birthday Party 

Then their feet were rubbed with lotion, and they got their toes and fingernails done. Then I gave them each a “makeover” per their requests. Some wanted subtle, and some wanted the loudest colors possible.

Spa Birthday Party

Soon the older kids insisted on doing makeovers while I polished nails. The birthday girl insisted on doing her own look, to interesting effect.

Spa Birthday Party

Later, we had cake and opened presents.

Spa Birthday Party

How cute is that blue bag stuffed with goodies and accented with a keychain full of laminated photos of my own little cutie?

 Spa Birthday Party

How crafty is my friend, huh? I was very impressed.

Today was her actual birthday, so we had pizza for dinner and she got a berry smoothie from Costco. Unfortunately, their was only about an hour between soccer practice and football, but we still enjoyed it. Tonight, Sophia took a bubble bath with some of her new spa stuff. From Mom and Dad she got an annual membership to Club Penguin and a bucket of pedicure essentials.

~ by bekaboo on October 3, 2008.

8 Responses to “Spa Birthday Party”

  1. what a very cool spa party you all had, looked like a lot of fun from those photos. What great ideas and those goodie bags look fab.

  2. They look like they had oodles of fun. That picture of them all on the sofa is adorable. Did they bring their own housecoats? I’m hiding this post from Jaylene 😉

  3. Wow, what a fun & funky girly party! Looks like they really enjoyed themselves. That punch looks soooo yummy, would you be able to share the recipe for it?? Would be perfect for a baby shower I’m going to!
    What a gorgeous bag your friend made for her … very cute 🙂

  4. sounds like a really fun party! 🙂

  5. I love this idea! What a fun girl time, I would have loved that as a kids (and now) and I am sure Kaitlyn will someday too. Lovely!

  6. I love your ideas for this party! That’s the party we’re going to do next year and you had so many cool ideas. Did you provide the robes or is it just a coincidence that they all match? You always have the neatest ideas.

  7. Jeepers, you could be an event planner!

  8. […] Here is a link to Sophia’s final party. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Spa Birthday PartyHalle’s 11th Birthday True Self Makeover Party […]

Leave a Reply

 
