Farewell to Summer

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

at Rachel's pool

Well, it’s official. Today was the last day of summer. Tomorrow morning my kids start school. Since I’m teaching an 8:30 class, I’ll be dropping them off at 8:10, and for the first time ever I won’t get to walk them to class on the first day of school. Luckily, I will be able to pick them up when the day is over. They are tucked in bed with outfits all set out for tomorrow and backpacks full of school supplies waiting by the back door.

So I just had to post these photos of a fun pool day at a friend’s house a couple of weeks ago, when summer seemed endless. Sophia had never jumped off the diving board before, and it took us close to 45 minutes to steel herself up to do it. She is my child who will try things even if they terrify her. She is afraid of heights, but she ended up climbing a rock wall 4 times at a birthday party (after taking an hour to work up her courage). She will also taste anything at least once before deciding whether she likes it. When she saw her two year old cousin jumping off the diving board the day before, she just knew that she could do it despite her fears. Pretty soon, she was trying to do tricks with the big kids. I was so proud of her!

~ by bekaboo on August 28, 2008.

5 Responses to “Farewell to Summer”

  1. I hope the first day of school goes well for you all!
    Great summer photos … only a few more months here and I’ll be able to post some of my own (I am soooo over winter right now).

  2. Fun times, good for S. for taking the plunge. I don’t think I’d be able to anymore. Jaylene’s been taking swimming lessons every day this week. I don’t think she’d be willing to do a dive though!

  3. good shots! Hope their first day (and yours) went well! 🙂

  4. Great pictures! YAY Sophia!!

  5. Summer always seems endless until its last day, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
