Little Boy Genius

wild indian jake, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Okay, I’m his auntie, so I am undoubtedly biased. This is my 4 year old nephew, Jacob. He recently made up a poem about pickles and recited it to my sister, who wrote it down and emailed it to me.

Here it is for your enjoyment:

“Pickle things you never see,
Like pickles on a Christmas tree.

Pickle things you never buy,
Like pickle kites that fly high in the sky.

Pickle things you never make,
Like pickle pie and pickle cake.

The most pickle thing you never do
Is wear a pickle for a shoe!”

I shared this poem with some dear scrapbooking friends in a yahoo group and they reminded me that there are indeed pickle Christmas ornaments, so I am going to search for one to send my sister’s family this year. And evidently Marc Brown (I think he wrote the Arthur the Anteater books) wrote a children’s book called “Pickle Things”. So I guess I have little Jacob’s Christmas presents all picked out. 🙂

Oh, a few days later, my sister sent me this crazy photo of Jake dressed up in a feathered head dress-looking slightly less sophisticated than the poet of earlier in the week.

~ by bekaboo on September 24, 2007.

5 Responses to “Little Boy Genius”

  1. I think you’ll be surprised if you buy that book (Pickle Things), that your nephew has somehow managed to write the very same poem, word for word.

    http://www.amazon.com/gp/customer-reviews/discussions/start-thread.html?ie=UTF8&ASIN=0819310271&authorID=ATY1TGX2BDL53&store=yourstore&reviewID=R3CHUAAN44BO56&displayType=ReviewDetail

  2. That’s hilarious! I bet he heard it at preschool and just memorized it! I will have to let my sister know. Thanks for the information.

  3. Liar liar, pants on fire.

  4. Bwahahahahahaaa!! I can’t believe Marc Brown commented on my blog!! That is so fantastic. His mother said pretty much the same thing. He swore up and down it was his own creation. Of course, he is four. ;P

  5. Too funny!

Leave a Reply

 
