Happy Birthday, Mom!



Mimo & the Peach, originally uploaded by Temeculamom.

Here is one of my favorite photos of my mom-giving a little love to my five year old. My mom had a birthday this week, and is having a little trouble with it. But I think she is amazing! That is her real haircolor, for one thing.

Following is a poem I wrote her for Mother’s Day a couple of years ago. Just ain’t nothing like your mama. And there sure ain’t nothing like MY mama!

Mother’s Grace

Oh, glad I am my mother had a child,
Delivered me from darkness into light.
And, in maternal being, reconciled
The forceful dawn with gentle wombish night.

New mother held her freshborn miracle,
Matched breath to mine in wondrous first accord.
And, heeding God’s internal oracle,
Like earlier Mary– she her child adored.

Maternal love was kindled that sweet hour,
Burned deeper o’er the coming years replete.
Love multiplied sixfold drew greater power,
‘Til all her children flourished in its heat.

In all the years that passed ‘twixt then and now,
I’ve seen her warmth reflected in each face.
We love because our mother showed us how,
and love her most who gave unselfish grace.

~ by bekaboo on March 13, 2007.

4 Responses to “Happy Birthday, Mom!”

  1. What a beautiful poem!! Sounds like your mom is very special and she is lucky to have a daughter who obviously cares for her and cherishes her so much!

  2. A beautiful Poen Beka. I bet it brought a tear to your Mum’s eye.

  3. My mom? Oh yeah, she still cries over it :).

  4. Beautiful poem… and such a sweet photo!! Happy Happy

Leave a Reply

 
